REVIEW: There Are Reasons Noah Packed No Clothes

There are Reasons Noah Packed No ClothesThere are Reasons Noah Packed No Clothes by Robert Jacoby
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

There are reasons Noah packed no clothes

Spoiler alert. This review does contain spoilers so beware.

Please let me say first and foremost that while reading this book I was completely out of my comfort zone. I will give the author credit and say that the storyline really does make you sit and think.

Richard Issych wakes up after a botched suicide attempt inside the confines of an inpatient unit. The author takes us on a ride of self-discovery and healing through the obscure mind and shattered reality of a sick young man.

Robert Jacobys choice of writing style which consisted of choppy and incomplete sentences adequately portrayed Richards mental sickness. In the beginning Richard is disoriented and confused which is evident through the authors incoherent thoughts and choppy disorganized statements. As the clinics progression of medical and psychological treatment develops Richards thoughts become complete only to spiral back out of control towards the end.
There are reasons Noah packed no clothes is chocked full of strange and unusual characters. I found myself warming up to their colorful personalities and waited eagerly in anticipation of what their next reactions would be.

The ending left me highly confused and quite possibly in a good way. Wasn’t bug really Richard? On page 297 the doctor said Bugs real name was Reginald. Then in the end the father called him Reggie and was shot. I just figured bug was a figment of his imagination. As I stated earlier, I was confused through most of this book. However, when you look at it from a mental patient’s perspective who wouldn’t be? The author did a great job at portraying the mind of a mentally sick patient.

I am still not sure who Noah is and why he didn’t pack any clothes…

This book was provided to me through Netgalley courtesy of the publisher for my un-biased review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

