John Carter series by Edgar Rice Burroughs

The Warlord of Mars (Barsoom, #3)The Warlord of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The John Carter series by Edgar Rice Burroughs. Overall I give the series four out of five stars but felt the third book was a three.
At this point I can only adequately review the first three books in this series. The Princess of Mars, the Gods of Mars, and the Warlord of Mars.

To start off, I can tell you that John Carter is one lucky guy. Everything seems to fall in place for him no matter what the dire circumstance may be. I am anxious to read all of the books in the series not only to find out what happens to Mr. Burroughs characters, but also to find out if this actually takes place inside John Carter’s head. Which would explain his uncommon lucky streak.

Considering that these were written almost 100 years ago I felt that the writing style and story lines of the books were still in keeping with the times. The fast pace of the adventure is mastered by Mr. Burroughs unique ability to keep it moving page after page. Although, I did think he could have developed the Barsoom world and its inhabitants further past it’s surface. The science part of the book didn’t seem too add up and many times left me feeling flabbergasted without a reasonable explanation.

However, silly me should keep in mind that this is a science fiction book and world that was created out of thin air for our pure enjoyment.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

